DjangoBooks.com

Action. What's a GJ guitar with Easy Action?

Hi Everybody.
This year I've started learning Gypsy Jazz. I just returned from Djangofest Northwest 2011, and it looks like I should loose the Guild I've been playing for thirty years and switch to the obligatory Selmer-Maccaferri style guitar if I'm to join the crowd. Here are my criteria.
1) I'm only interested in rhythm right now. I don't know if this is all that important, but I suppose all other things being equal, a D Hole would be the the more appropriate variety, from what I understand.
2) I'm able to pay up to $2,200.
3) I have some nerve issues on the tips of a couple of my left-hand fingers as the result of playing with poor technique on a guitar with bad action a long time ago. I have no problem if play with good technique on a guitar with easy action. But if the strings are heavy and high off the fingerboard, well, that is something I need to avoid. This is my most important criterion.
There is no guitar store in L.A. that carries much of a selection of GJ guitars. (I know: I should have tried a bunch at Djangofest. But I didn't, and I can't wait till another comes around, so...) All I can do is pre-pay and order one, try it out and return it within the allotted time if I don't like it. I can only do that so many times, so I need to have a few very likely candidates before I start.
THANKS!
Terry

Comments

• StringswingerStringswinger Santa Cruz and San Francisco, CA✭✭✭✭ 1993 Dupont MD-20, Shelley Park Encore
    Terry,

I suggest a used Shelly Park D hole (if you can get one that cheap). They are easy to play. The wide neck of the French makers might cause you some hand problems. A Gitane d-500 can be set up with low action and might work for you as an entry point.

Good luck.

My experience with these guitars and this style is that too low action makes good la pompe impossible. YMMV

Cheers,

Marc
    www.hotclubpacific.com
    "When the chord changes, you should change" Joe Pass