DjangoBooks.com

Hello and in need of some online academy advise!

edited June 2012 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 2
Hey all,

Partly an introduction as well as need for some advise! Hello! My name is Christophe (Tumbledown) and I have been playing guitar for 20+ years. Mostly rock, a lot of folk and much bluegrass (I am also a clawhammer banjo player). I grew up in Belgium and remember as a child hearing a lot of Django and Grappelli (my mother had the privilege to see the latter live in Paris!). I have always admired and revered Django but for some reason always thought his playing was something unattainable! However, over the past month I was bit by a crazy bug to want to finally step up and learn gypsy jazz, and challenge myself. I started to search for the community online, and quickly found it, I started to look for online Academies, and found a bunch. In my short journey already I have learned of Stochollo, Lollo, Fappy, Denis Chang and other greats. I have been watching whatever free material is offered on the Gypsy Jazz Academy (Pepe's Dream etc.), some good YouTube vids (as well as one that really seem off..). Starting to practice arpeggios, learning bits of songs (like Daphne and Minor Swing). I finally sealed the deal for myself by buying a Gitane D-500 and can't put it down.

So...

I have browsed these forums, and see this question come up from time to time in the forum posts. However, I feel there is potentially no definitive answer? Which academy would be a great one to start from? When I started learning Clawhammer, I wanted to make sure my technique was sound, and learned from Perlman. To me making sure I have sound technique in the beginning really helps with moving forward when learning a new 'style'. I can see there are a lot nuances to gypsy jazz playing.