DjangoBooks.com

Hello, some noob questions!

jazznoobjazznoob Buenos AiresNew
edited November 2012 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 20
Hi, how are you? Glad to be in the forum

I have a couple of questions and i think you'll be able to help me.

I've been playing for more than 10 years, mostly rock and blues (with the electric guitar). Also, for the last 4 years or so i ve been workin towars getting my degree in classical guitar.

Nowadays, im working with this dude that sings and i use my classical guitar (not a very good one) trough a mic.

Here is the thing: I wanna learn this style (gypsy jazz) and i also need a new guitar for playing live.

If i buy something like a Godin (nylon strings), do you think it could "work" to learn gypsy as well? What about a good classical guitar?

I know it wouldnt be optimal, but i guess that what i really want to know is if you can work in getting the right gypsy sound and technique with a classical/nylon strings guitar.

Thanks, i appreciate!

Comments

• Errrr..in a word ...... no

That doesnt mean you cant play GJ on nylon. You just cant quite get that sound.
    The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • B25GibB25Gib Bremerton WA✭✭✭✭ Holo Busato, Dell'Arte Hommage, Gitane D-500, Eastman AR805
    Hi JNoob!
    ..............Congrats on your journey getting a degree in classical guitar. You will have a good foundation in classical harmony. GJ rhythm can be basically learned as a beginner on a nylon string guitar but it will not produce the fundamental rhythm "pump" or lead sound of this style. I'm assuming that your vocalist is singing some "swing" style songs? Nylon string guitar in THIS style is more solo oriented when used with backup GJ guitars. If you are the only guitarist now, I think you should consider buying a DVD video in this style as the chord shapes and progressions are so different from what you are probably familiar with.