DjangoBooks.com

Vintage guitar questions

Obviously, i am new to gypsy jazz and GJ guitars, so bear with me on some basic questions.

I recently bought a "mystery" vintage GJ guitar. It's a pretty nice guitar, but a little unusual. It has an oval sound hole but has a 640 mm scale length and 12 frets to the body. The fretboard is missing, as is the tailpiece. It was probably made round about the 1940's. The neck appears to be attached by a butt joint rather than a dovetail joint and the neck angle is slightly off, side to side, so I will have to do a neck reset. I usually work on much older guitars, mostly old parlor guitars. This guitar is probably not of any great value, still, my goal with any guitar work is to preserve as much of the guitar and its history as possible. But, in this case I am considering converting it to a bolt on neck. When the guitar is strung again after so many years, the geometry is bound to change and the bolt on neck would simplify adjustments that might become necessary in the future. The face of the butt joint might well have been trimmed slightly on the neck, so a Taylor style adjustment shim, might be the easiest way to restore the original geometry. Is this a crazy idea?

I am planning to reset the neck to accommodate a medium height bridge, so that adjustments can be made in either direction. The guitar seems to have had a trapeze style tailpiece or a shorter variant on the Selmer style tailpiece. The "footprint" is hard to read. Is there an advantage to either style other than keeping the vintage appearance? I would appreciate and value any advice from more experienced players.

Comments

• BonesBones Moderator
    How is the condition of the top? Is it still arched or caved in?

Be careful with the neck angle to not put too much down pressure on the top if it looks like it has taken a set over the years depending on how strong it is braced, etc.
  • GoatherdGoatherd New