DjangoBooks.com

Raising action on a DG-300???

Hello All -- I'm new to Gypsy Jazz and just purchased a Gitane DG-300 after playing Campfire's. I ordered 2 sets of Argentine strings for when it arrived -- a set of 10's and a set of 11's.

I put the 11's on and was disappointed to realize that the action is a bit too low. The low E buzzes if you dig in at all and the 12th fret on the High E buzzes a little.

Do I need to buy a new bridge that hasn't been sanded down too far? If so, any recommendations?

Would adding a little relief to the neck help at all?

Any other solutions I'm overlooking?

I appreciate any advice ya'll can offer. Thanks!

Josh
www.whollycatsband.com

EDIT: After closer inspection, the entire length of the E string buzzes, it's worst from Fret 9 to Fret 13.

Comments

• drollingdrolling New
    Got mine from Elderlys. Pretty good on-line store, but they don't really know how to setup selmacs. Mine needed work, too.

The easiest thing to check first would be the neck relief. I like the board as close to flat as possible, but usually end up leaving a little relief because of string buzz. Capo the strings at the 1st fret and hold them down w/your fingers at the 14th. There should be a tiny gap between the strings and fretboard in the middle of the neck. If there's more, you might want to remove relief by tightening the trussrod. If the neck's backbowed, you'll need to add relief. The truss rod's accessed thru' the sound hole, but you'll need a really long hex wrench. I'm still looking for one. Before any adjustment's made, you'll want to lower the string tension first.