DjangoBooks.com

sell me on a selmer

hey everyone!

i'm brand new to the forum and to gypsy jazz guitar and I wanted to ask an opinion of those who have been through the learning process...

i've been playing for about 20 years. i'm totally self-taught and have played mostly classic rock type stuff. basically, i've got a decent ear and a lot of bad habits. thanks to django i'm trying to change this, but i have just started taking lessons to learn proper technique (and eventually theory) for the first time, which i'm supplementing by seeking out all the information about gypsy jazz guitar I can find online.

what i'm wondering is how important you all feel it is to get a Selmer-type guitar while I'm just beginning? do you feel like having a selmer-type guitar is critical to learning the style?

i have a Martin D-1 acoustic that I play most of the time and a Gretsch Tennessee Rose when I want to plug in. if I was going to get a selmer-type guitar within the next few months, i probably couldn't spend more than $400-500 on it. it seems like that pretty much limits me to a Cigano or Gitane. next year, i might be able to get a guitar in the $800-$1200 range, like an Altamira or something used.

so i guess i'm trying to decide if i should get one of the most affordable models as soon as I can, even if that means I might be stuck with it for a while, or if i'd be better off just playing the Martin until I can get a solid all-around guitar I won't want or need to upgrade for quite some time.

okay, pretty broad question, sorry, but i'd love any feedback you all have. thanks!

j

Comments

• slowlearnerslowlearner ✭✭