DjangoBooks.com

Laminated or solid wood

Charles MeadowsCharles Meadows WV✭✭✭ ALD Original, Dupont MD50
So I am curious what of you guitar gurus think about this choice. Maybe Michael Bauer or Michael Horowitz will have some particular wisdom here, among others.

Most of my acoustic experience is with bluegrass. And you would be hard pressed to find a laminated guitar that would sound anything close to the solid wood ones. I've played tons of them, and have a Collings D1A varnish as my bluegrass guitar now. This is understandable with bluegrass since the desired sound seems to be that punchy midrange with plenty of bass.

But with the gypsy guitars (with which I have very little experience) don't seem to sound that different with laminated versus solid. The ALD Original I have sounds great, and just like Angelo's tone on his newer albums. If I recall most of the Selmers were laminated. But yet Dupont still offers solid wood on some of the higher end models. It would seem to me that this would change the sound to much from the classic Selmer tone that the two would be very different.

What am I missing? Is the GJ guitar construction such that the back and sides don't matter as much as the top?

Thanks.

Comments

• Michael BauerMichael Bauer Chicago, ILProdigy Selmers, Busatos and more…oh my!
    I'm sure Bob, Craig, or one of the other builders here could speak with more authority than I can about construction issues. What I do know is this: in the '30s, lamination was very high tech, and therefore high end. Selmer and Busato did it, so in part this is just tradition.

To my ear, however, there are differences. Laminated bodies seem to me to lead to a bit quicker decay of the notes, and that lends itself to really the really fast playing that gypsy players. I could be wrong about this, but that's how I hear it. I suspect some of the brittle tone (compared to flat-tops) of gypsy guitars is a result of the lamination.