DjangoBooks.com

I am new to Gypsy Jazz

Hello all. I am new to Gypsy Jazz and I want to do it right.
I am an intermediate guitar player.
So where do I start?

Thank you.

Comments

• Hi and Welcome to the group.

Hmmm...where to start. One of the basic reference books for this style is Gypsy Picking ....by Michael Horowitz. Most here have it and will include it in their advice to you lol. It can be purchased at the Djangobooks store.

Start listening to lots of tunes in the genre and concentrate your listening on the ones you like....you can't play this music well til you hear it in your head.

Start learning the chords to some of the simpler tunes and listen a lot to the rhythm guitar. Check out the threads on rhythm here and the repertoire and GJ 101 forums.

GJ is like golf...it can be frustrating at times but when everything clicks it is wonderful music to play. You will find lots of friendly and helpful people here.

Next step is to find out if you are more a book learner or an example learner...once we know that it is much easier to point you in the right directions. There are online teachers, DVD courses...lots of different avenues.

The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • anthon_74anthon_74 Marin county, CA✭✭✭✭ Alta Mira M 01
    Hey Man,

Welcome !

Here are some ideas - Learn these songs like the back of your hand - All of me, Minor swing, Dark eyes, and sweet georgia brown.
    Get Denis changs art of the accompaniment and start working on pompe rhythm like your life depended on it.
    Also, start practicing Arpeggios in the shape of E, A, and C, both minor and major. Learn to play them in every key, and to play them over all the chords of the previously mentioned songs.
    Make sure all your down picks are rest strokes, and start every new string with a downstroke.

Also - Get gypsy Picking, which probably covers most of what I said about arpeggios and stuff.