DjangoBooks.com

upstroke / downstroke dilema

T1mothyT1mothy ✭✭ Furch petite bouche
in Technique Posts: 79
Hello there this will be my very first post here. I am fairly new to this genre and I just finished transcribing Douce Ambiance (beautiful song) and while I regularly practice it to speed it up I decided to tackle yet another song. I absolutely fell in love with the song called Django s tiger.

I started today and Im not past 0:30. It really is damn hard. Doesnt put me down altho I assume its not the best beginner kinda song to learn. I was wondering for instance about the first Cm6 arpeggio when Django hits the high G on the e string 15th fret and goes down with the notes I have no idea how to utilize my right hand for changing strings e -> E. Im having no problem getting various runs in the opposite direction which happen to include fast strinchanges to a solid tempo. But this way Im fairly clueless.

Downstroke on lets say e to downstroke on B is just awkward for my righthand right now. Feels like too much movement. Downstroke on e leading to upstroke on B is also awkward for my righthand. Ideally id like to end with upstroke on one string and downstroke on the higher one (elevation) but obviously that doesnt happen when you play only one note per string.

So I was wondering if you guys could perhaps tell me to focus on downstroking situations like theese or learning to upstroke on the next string after downstroking on the one below it (elevation) or that Im completely missing something because I wouldnt be surprised at all. Sorry for such a long first post.

Cheers
-Tim

Comments

• Charles MeadowsCharles Meadows WV✭✭✭ ALD Original, Dupont MD50
    I think the consensus here would be to learn gypsy technique with its double down strokes on the descending arps. I still find those awkward at really fast tempos. There are players coming out of other backgrounds who "cheat" and skip some of the double downstrokes in order to keep a more relaxed feel.