DjangoBooks.com

Manouche guitars used in other genres?

jwpfeiferjwpfeifer Phoenix, Arizona✭✭ Dupont Nomade
in Welcome Posts: 21
Hi Everyone,

I was curious to find out if any of you are using Gypsy Jazz guitars in other kinds of music? I bought my first Gypsy Jazz guitar recently from this site, and have been thoroughly enjoying playing it and getting into this style of music, listening to a lot of other players, etc.

I'm a composer and I like to write instrumental music for a variety of projects, which is why I bought this guitar, as a way to provide me with access to some sounds that I couldn't get from my other instruments.

As I've been getting acquainted with my new guitar and becoming more familiar with the tone, I can see right away that this guitar is going to be great to use for Freddy Green style acoustic rhythm parts in addition to the more traditional La Pompe style rhythm sounds.

I also noticed that the guitar can get an almost middle-eastern sound quality to it when you pick in a certain way and use some of the scales/modes common to that type of music. As I've been using my heavy 3.5mm Wegenpick the tone can also be very round like a classical guitar, for single note lines. This could be great to use for parts where I would normally use a classical guitar to play the melody, since the Gypsy Jazz guitar has a punchier quality to it that could help it stand out in the mix.

Anyway, just wondering if any of you are using your Manouche guitars for other styles of music besides the more traditional Gypsy Jazz music. I can see some interesting uses of this guitar sound for a few other applications. I once saw a western swing band where someone was using a GJ guitar for rhythm chops, and it sounded great, fitting into the mix just like a good arch top would have been used.

-Jim

Comments

• Al WatskyAl Watsky New JerseyVirtuoso
    Not as a sales pitch but check my site Al Watsky.com.
    I've got a couple of clips of my Djangle Box Project up.