DjangoBooks.com

Some advice on how to keep on track with Gypsy Jazz during school hours.

As of now, I'm a college student and because of going to school 5 days a week with class hours from 7:00am to 4:00pm/5:00pm/6:00pm plus an hour or two spent on transportation going back home, I only have a few time to spend practicing guitar and gypsy jazz during school days. I just want to seek some helpful advice on how can I keep on track with Gypsy Jazz during school hours? Like something I can do with my spare time before the next subject begins or during a break. One thing I can only think of is to listen to gypsy jazz during my spare time, but I need more to add up on my knowledge about gypsy jazz without even touching the guitar because I can't bring my own guitar which makes it more difficult for me to keep on track. So, that's it, how can I keep on track with Gypsy Jazz - add something to my knowledge of gypsy jazz and to my technique and skill without even touching the guitar? Thanks in advance, guys!

Comments

• If you have some sort of mp3 player, use your commute to listen to music. I keep a notebook with me and work away from the guitar. Some examples of things I do is:
    write down songs, solos, phrases I want to learn. With phrases, I try to be specific as possible (DR, minor ii-V phrase, "What is this thing called love?" 2:21)
    If I've learned a solo note for note, write down what I think is happening.
    Try to figure out the harmonic progression for songs.
    Set up a practice schedule for the week...what I'm going to cover
    analyze what I need to work on based on a gig the night or weekend before.
    write down chord changes or licks (diagram them out) from a song I've learned previously.

Stuff like that. It helps me visualize the guitar better and organize my practice sessions. It also keeps me from playing mindless games on my phone and using my time practically.
    Nathan SistBuco