DjangoBooks.com

Daily practice

tommasotommaso ROMA-ITALYNew
edited June 2006 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 149
Hello everybody,
great forum, great community.
I am new at this forum, I am not a pro, I would like to submit this problem:
I have started to study Gypsy Picking book and I have noticed that it takes all my available time for practice (I can dedicate 1hour and half dayly). Since I would like to build a small repertoire my question is :
can I reduce the time of Gypsy Picking exercise to 1 hour and use the remaining time to play pieces or it is mandatory to initiate the study of the pieces ONLY after mastered the Gypsy Picking book at all speed (about 6 months I have heard). I have to say that since I've started these exercises my tecnique in gypsy playing becomes better every day.
Thanks to all for suggestions.
P.S. : Special thanks to Michael for having done such a fundamental opera. I have to say that, for me, this book has opened wide me the door on a way to play that I have uselessly chased for years.
Grazie Django!

Comments

• dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    u dont have to spend so much time on the technique... instead spend your time playing the music... and if you really wish to use the technique then play the music using the technique...

that's what i do with my students... i get them playing the music right away and whatever technical exercise i give them is always in a musical context so that it can be applied in improvisation....
  • KcoxKcox Montreal, QCNew