DjangoBooks.com

Practice Routines

montemonte
in Technique Posts: 23
Hi guys
Want to get some perspective on some of the forum's practice routines and tips. I currently follow the following:

- clap on 2 and 4 beats with metronome
- fingers warm-up exercise
- minor swing chord progression with metronome starting at 60 and climbing to 200
- dark eyes chord progression (same as above, but not as fast yet)
- learning the intro to Montagne Ste-Genevieve

For me, this is enough to keep me busy because i am new to GJ and still trying to memorize the songs too. I have problems hearing chord changes when listening to recordings. Anyone else experience that?

Currently playing on an Eastman arch top acoustic. Have a DG-255 on order with Michael. have only been playing GJ for about a month and taking lessons with Stephane Wremble.

I know i have a long way to go, but i truly enjoy the genre and it is NOT boring at all.

Any tips-stories are much appreciated
Thanks
Monte

Comments

• DragonPLDragonPL Maryland✭✭ Dupont MD 50-XL (Favino), Michael Dunn Stardust, Castelluccia Tears, Yunzhi gypsy jazz guitar, Gitane DG-320, DG-250M and DG-250
    Why only the 'intro' to Montagne Ste-Genevieve, and how far does the intro last to?? just the em add9 run?
    The whole tune is great arpeggio workout...
  • montemonte
    thanks for that response Stuart.
    i use a regime currently because i have a curriculum to follow from stephane. i know it all about rhythm right now. i have to work on the assignments he gives me. i work 10 hours a day so practice time is limited, but i do my best.

love this line "Gypsy Jazz is for life, not just for Christmas".

@dragonPL - i am practicing the intro currently because that is as far as i got with stephane.

Thanks
    Monte
  • Stephane is the man. He set me right. Listen and do what he says and you will definitely improve.
  • MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator