DjangoBooks.com

Hello I am new and from Canada

rdenisrdenis New
I have been playing guitar for many years and have always been interested in Manouche Jazz.
What has always kept me away is the fact that I have always played and will always play alone, small Northern Ontario community.
It seems that Gypsy jazz is made mostly to be played with two guitars.
My question is this.
Is there a solo style that can accommodate lead with some chording or bass so that someone can learn to play full solos without relying on a second guitar player?
If yes, where do I look and/or who do I look for.
Thank You
Ronald

Comments

• NejcNejc Slovenia✭✭ Altamira M01
    edited July 2015 Posts: 98
    Find out Django solo pieces: Improvisation 1-6, Parfum etc. and learn them.That should be a good start if you want to play some solo guitar. Or just look at improvisations of any GJ guitarist.
  • kevingcoxkevingcox Nova Scotia✭✭✭✭ Dupont MD50
    Waltzes can keep a good rhythm going with just one player. They are hella fun and great technical practice.
  • AppelAppel ✭✭✭
    Hello, fellow lonely Canadian. Heh heh - I think only Canadians and certain Eastern Europeans can say that and not be immediately condradicting themselves ...

I also love Django's solo pieces, and I also have Michael's astonishing book - can you imagine writing all those out? - very very good book

but

they are a little world all of their own, and I dunno ... they are very special. It's good to work on tunes that others might know. What I am myself working towards is having some solo material that I can take and maybe hit a coffee-shop or restaurant or some such and get out of the house. I know, leave the house and you're just asking for trouble - but sometimes a little trouble is good for a soul.

Do you know Fapy? I love the way he'll toss off a tune - I think he's playing "Fascination" here ...

... it's a bit different approach than Django's solo pieces.
    MichaelHorowitz
  • AppelAppel ✭✭✭