DjangoBooks.com

II-V-I song list

krzyskrzys New
edited March 2022 in Repertoire Posts: 136

Hello,

I am a bit of a newbie to improvisation and have been making good ground with learning licks, arpeggios and theory. Now I am putting it to the test by playing what I know in different keys. Could I please have a list of GJ standards that have II-V-I's?

Comments

• WillieWillie HamburgNew
    edited March 2022 Posts: 825

Hard to imagine any GJ standard without.

Not a few of those old Swing tunes even are based on whole chains of II-V. And you can replace every dominant chord with IIm7-V7, so the list really might be rather long.

• krzyskrzys New
    edited March 2022 Posts: 136

Yeah, I'm still quite new. I should specify, just major II-V-I

Is it right to say a good half of standards are II-V-I then second most common is I-vi-ii-V / rhythm changes?

What is the progression in the last eight bars of Django's Tiger? The D, D#dim, A, F#7 ? I hear that a lot too.

• WillieWillie HamburgNew
    edited March 2022 Posts: 825

The last 8 bars for me are IV, II7 without root (or maybe even some weird kind of tonic chord: try "A" as bass note with the first 3 chords), I, VI7, II7, V7, I, V7. So the last 5 bars are a VI-II-V chain of dominant chords leading to the resolution in the tonic chord.

I'm curious about the opinions on the D#°. It's sometimes called "passing chord"; but I'm afraid that can be translated as "no idea what function this damned chord has".

krzys
  • krzyskrzys New
    edited March 2022 Posts: 136

Thanks for the explanation. I guess I am after any other standards that have a lot of repeating 251s like Coquette or Blue Bossa.

if you are singing the bassline the D#° wants to go to E (A with E in the Bass) making it function like a B7; in Ballads you even can make it F#m7 B7b9 so there is your ii V.