DjangoBooks.com

Paris Swing GG42 D hole guitar - is it any good?

I’ve come across a 2nd hand Paris Swing GG42 D hole guitar recently - is it any good?

I'm a beginner in Gypsy Jazz guitar playing although I’ve been playing Jazz guitar for more than a decade on an arch top and nylon string guitars.

so I’m looking for my first Gypsy Jazz student guitar on a budget to see whether this Jazz sub genre is for me, as I’ve started jamming with an guitarist who plays on a Gypsy jazz guitar..

I’ve read and seen Michael’s review but still have a few questions.

Are the back and side wood solid? And the top?

how awkward is the neck?

sound in general? Or is it a not so good Chinese copy?

what low budget modifications are recommended?

Or simply whether to go for it or not, your first hand reviews are appreciated.

Comments

• jonpowljonpowl Hercules, CA✭✭✭ Dupont MD-100, Altamira M01F

I had a Paris Swing oval hole for a year or so and I liked it better than my Gitane DG255, as far as the way it sounded. It had a somewhat authentic sound, but lacked loudness. The Gitane was built a bit better but had a lot of annoying overtones. I like my Cigano GJ10 better than both of them and in fact, still have it while the others are long gone. I would recommend the low end Altamiras such as the Model M, M01, and even the M01F Cedar which I own and love. Most Altamiras could be used on a gig. There is a lot of discussion about all of these models on the Forum such as:

https://www.djangobooks.com/forum/discussion/11601/opinion-wanted-on-paris-swing/p1

• ChrisMartinChrisMartin Shellharbour NSW Australia✭✭ Di Mauro x2, Petrarca, Genovesi, Burns, Kremona Zornitsa & Paul Beuscher resonator.

This question comes up very often; well not necessarily about that specific guitar, but the variables are the same if you'll forgive that oxymoron.