DjangoBooks.com

Holding the plectrum

nutloafnutloaf WalesNew
edited July 2007 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 85
I have been playing guitar for 18 years, mostly blues,rock and fingerpicking. I have been holding the plectrum with the underside of my index finger, basically put your thumb and index finger together as if you are picking something up. It seems, in the book, that you use the underside of your thumb and the side of your index finger. Is this correct? and do you have to hold the plectrum like this? because I sound like I've picked the guitar up for the first time ever- rubbish in simple terms. I've had the book for about 1 hour and want to do everything correctly so that I,m playing propely and not slipping into bad habits.
Don't stare at the stinking finger, or you will miss all the heavenly glory.

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    nutloaf wrote:
    I have been holding the plectrum with the underside of my index finger, basically put your thumb and index finger together as if you are picking something up.

That causes a lot of tension...avoid doing that.
    It seems, in the book, that you use the underside of your thumb and the side of your index finger. Is this correct?

yes...
    and do you have to hold the plectrum like this?

You can do whatever you like....but nearly every Gypsy player avoids doing this because it stiffens up your muscles and causes a lot of tension. Sometimes leads to injury...
    because I sound like I've picked the guitar up for the first time ever- rubbish in simple terms.

It's going to take at least six months before it feels comfortable and sounds good. Keep at it...it'll be worth it!

-Michael
  • nutloafnutloaf WalesNew