DjangoBooks.com

questions on using nylon strings

I've recently installed some nylon strings on my Dupont D-hole (640mm scale). After a 1+ week settling in and stretching out period, I really like the sound and since I am using this guitar with another guitarist playing nylon strings it's working quite well.

I have no experience with nylon strings and would like some advice on a couple of things. The strings I have are Savarez regular tension. Is it routine for it to take a week or more for these strings to settle? I tried to use the high tension Savarez but the high E broke well before pitch, somewhere around D. Isn't my guitars' scale shorter than the usual classical guitar thus with less string tension? Did I just have a bad set of strings, and should a high tension E string normally tune to pitch OK on a 640mm scale? The other strings in the set tuned to pitch OK but it was scary bring the G up... Finally are there any quality nylon strings with loop or ball ends, and if not, does anyone have a good system for attaching nylon strings to a standard Selmer type tailpiece? I tied a bowline on a bight to make loops this time but that was a lot of work - is there a better system?

The guitar really sounds good with these strings, it's fine played fingerstyle (where Argentines are not effective), and the sound when I play with a pick is surprisingly strong. It's still got plenty of punch and power.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

There are some ball-ended nylon strings out there. I think D'Addario has a set--you might try those out.

I've always heard that nylon strings wouldn't work on a guitar built for steel strings. Something about the bracing being wrong for nylon-strings ... ?

Most of the people I've head who have tried have been quite dissappointed. Cool to hear that you like it.