DjangoBooks.com

Jean Corti videos

CuimeanCuimean Los AngelesProdigy
edited June 2007 in Accordion Posts: 271
Someone took a bunch of excellent videos of one of Jean Corti's recent Parisian concerts:

Oy vey...that's enough for now. There are more on YouTube...check 'em out.

Comments

Wow. Just watched the first one. Very cool. I'm a noob when it comes to accordion. Who is Jean Corti? Can you tell me something about him. Digging the vids!!!
  • CuimeanCuimean Los AngelesProdigy
    My knowledge of his history is a bit spotty. I believe he's grouped with the third generation of musette accordionists (the first being Vacher, Peguri, etc.; the second being Viseur, Privat, etc.; the third also including guys like Armand Lassagne). He's probably best known for his work with Jacques Brel. After some time spent in relative obscurity, he was asked to sit in the the Parisian musette/punk band Têtes Raides, which has been a great boon to him. He has released two albums on Têtes Raides' record label in the last few years: "Couka," with Christian Escoude on guitar, and more recently, "Versatile," with a smorgasbord of guests from the French jazz and pop scenes.

Anyone else have any more detailed information? Brandon, I'm looking in your direction....
  • brandoneonbrandoneon Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, France✭✭✭
    Nice work Rod! I was recently in Paris, but had to leave the day before this concert so I was pretty bummed out. (BTW: I have this bet with my girlfriend that Mon Slip will release this concert as a CD or DVD, given the rarity of his performances, his stature in the world of French accordion, and his age.)