DjangoBooks.com

Does someone have any tips for this one?

Tobias LandaTobias Landa HollandNew
edited September 2007 in Licks and Patterns Posts: 35
Hi, Does somebody has some tips for a gypsy jazz solo for the following scale:
|G |Am |Bm |E9 |
It is played with a bit of a latin rythm.

Comments

• Tobias LandaTobias Landa HollandNew
    the whole progression:

|G |Am |Bm |E9 |
    |Am|Bm | Cm| F9|
    |Cm|Bb |Db9|Dsus4|D7|

I think I already have something for the beginning, but I still thinkin' about what to do next... I'm quite new at this..

Grz
  • djangologydjangology Portland, OregonModerator
    That chord progression is a little unusual when it reaches the Cm. The first 4 chords you mention are fine since they are I-ii-ii-vi7 in the key of G but then it goes to the Cm and that doesn't make much sense to me. The relative major of Cm is Eb7, which has no logical relationship of tension to the A part...

Im not good at this stuff either but that is my first impression.

Instead of modulating to Cm, I would go to either Cmajor, D major, or Am or Bm modulation if I were personally writing this song.

Also, I think the tri-tone of the Vth of Gmaj would also be a good key for the B part, such as Ab, which is a little like using Fm rather than Cm...

Just rambling... don't mind me...
  • JackJack western Massachusetts✭✭✭✭
    That looks like a Santana progression to me...basically a I-iv-V idea. Maybe you can cop some of his licks?

best,
    Jack.
    A major to the minor 4th wouldn't exist in standard harmony. It doesnt exist in any of the standard minor scales or standard major scales.

Cm does however, exist in the G Major Spanish Gypsy Scale , and so maybe Jack is right and its a Santana thing...
    ah thanks! :)
    i'll have a look at some santana licks...
    and it isn't my own..
    I'm playing a solo on someone else's cd...
    I do have the music file on my pc... can i upload it?

gr tobias
  • dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator