DjangoBooks.com

newbie questions about 7th chords theory

steven_eiresteven_eire Wicklow✭✭✭✭ Dupont MD50
edited January 2008 in Technique Posts: 172
Hi there, coming from a bluesy pentatonic players background i am relatively new to all this jazz and theory stuff. I have a few quick questions about how to deal with 7th chords and would really appreciate some advice

i have read about and been able to work into my playing the idea of substituting an 7(b9) chord with the diminished scale of a tone above it for example playing Fdim when the E7 comes up in minor swing and this sounds pretty good to my ears

but in a typical sequence like this: C | A7 | D7 | G7 how would you play over these 7ths? can i treat them all like 7(b9)s? and play the corresponding diminished substitutions for all of them?

also when playing a V7 -> I type progression should i be playing different things on the V7 chord depending on whether the one chord will be maj or min or do i just try and suggest that when it resolves to the one?
in other words would you play the same thing going from D7 to G as you would D7 to Gmin when playing on the 7th chord (D7) or is there better notes to lead in to either the major or minor?

Comments

• Joli GadjoJoli Gadjo Cardiff, UK✭✭✭✭ Derecho, Bumgarner - VSOP, AJL
    I am far for being an expert, but I would say that on an E7, you can use 9th and the 5th and alter them sharp or flat if you feel like it. I would still avoid 4th and 6th.
    It is quite easy to go from E7 to Fdim :
    E7 : E G# B D E
    Fdim : D B G#
    So since they already have a lot in common, you can introduce the 7th chord with a dim one. It's very convenient, you can move this shape on the neck, it's a good trick to get to the next shape you want to reach up or down the neck.
    Over a 7th chord you can also just play the arpeggio itself. I think I've also seen Bireli Lagrene playing a straight C arpeggio on D7 in All of me, but I haven't tried this yet.