DjangoBooks.com

DG-250 (Review, question, pics & audio clip)

num3ricnum3ric Montreal, Quebec, CanadaNew
Hi,
I recently bought a Saga Gitane DG-250 from a local shop here in Montreal, and I'm VERY pleased with it. It's my first gypsy guitar, therefore I'm not an expert, but I know it's great quality for the $$$.

When I first brought it home, I was astounded to hear its resonance and volume potential. It also stays in tune pretty well.

My only complaint would be that the action is quite high. I adjusted the neck relief, which did help. But still, it seems that the bridge is a bit too high for my taste. And this is where my question follows: Is it normal that my bridge is glued to the top? Are all the DG-250 made like that? Because if it's glued on, there's not much I can do about the action, not even try to change it, or sand it at the base... Now, the action isn't that tremendously high. It's at about *wrong measurement, see below*, which is still very playable. (Does this seem like a normal action?)

Anyway, other than that small detail, I really enjoy this guitar and would recommend it to anyone looking for something in that price range.

The pics:
DG-250001.jpg
DG-250002.jpg
Look at that wood!
DG-250003.jpg

The action (it appears lower here than it actually is):
DG-250005.jpg

As for the sound-clip, I did a short cover of Andreas' version of Bei Dir War Es Immer So Schön. (By the way, you wouldn't believe how cheap my computer mic is ha ha!)

Comments

• dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    Eric, your mom makes great christmas cookies, if she makes more, maybe i'll give you an extra bridge that i dont use
  • num3ricnum3ric Montreal, Quebec, CanadaNew
    HA HA HA! I know, these are definitely the "Selmer" of cookies.
    Although, they're more like candies than cookies.............................

Thanks D, now I lost ALL my credibility. :lol:
  • HereticHeretic In the Pond✭✭✭