DjangoBooks.com

I have a chance to buy a used D-500

Hi folks;

I am a newbie to this site and GJ playing and I have a chance to buy a 2 year old Gitane D-500 with a soft case for $550 CDN. Is this a good deal?
Thanks,

ZF

Comments

• FopaFopa San FranciscoNew
    No, it's not a good deal. You can buy a brand new D-500 from this site for $540

https://shoppingcart.djangobooks.com/cg ... t=&catstr=
    -fopa
  • ZeroFretZeroFret New
    Fopa wrote:
    No, it's not a good deal. You can buy a brand new D-500 from this site for $540

https://shoppingcart.djangobooks.com/cg ... t=&catstr=

Thank you for the reply.
    Yes, that is a better deal if you live in the USA but I live in Canada. By the time I pay for shipping and extortionist brokerage fees UPS charges it will cost me $800 or more. I guess I will just continue to learn on my cheap Aria MM-20.

ZF
  • FopaFopa San FranciscoNew
    Interesting, I bought my last gj guitar from a Canadian luthier, and had it shipped to me here in the States. Apart from the shipping cost, there wern't any fees or charges.
    -fopa
  • beebobeebo New
    Hello Zerofret,

I also live in Canada and recently made a purchase of an instrument and various books from this site, and my purchase was not shipped via UPS. It was shipped USPS and when i picked it up at Canada Post, the border cops charged me PST (SK) and GST. There may have been a $10 Customs Handling Fee (or some such nonsense) on top of that if i remember correctly...
    In all my cross border purchases the last few years, any "extra" charges have amounted to very little more than the sales taxes applicable in SK (PST+GST) or just GST when i was in AB. Occasionally i had NO extra charges - even on purchases over $1000. I am definitely happy when USPS and CP are involved.

UPS on the other hand..... :roll: - not so much
    Much more expensive in my experience, to the point where i will find another retailer if my first choice ships by UPS.
  • ZeroFretZeroFret New