DjangoBooks.com

What am I doing here?!?!

dulcimistdulcimist New
edited May 2008 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 34
This is not an existential question.

I've been playing around with this progression of arpeggios (on hammered dulcimer). I'm pretty sure it's in the ii-V-I realm,but I'm fairly new to GJ. Can anyone help me understand what I'm playing here:

Descending // ascending arpeggios:
A-F-D // B-D-F
G#-F-D // B-D-F
G-E-C // G-C-E
F#-C-A // F#/D

E-C-A // F#-A-C
E-B-G //F-G-B
C-G-E // G#-F-D-B (Descending)
C-E-G // C

Key of C, correct?
This is my best guess of the chords:
Dm6 | G#dim7 | C | D7
D9 | G7/6 | C // G#dim | C

I'm not exactly sure why this progression works, I just know it sounds right. I understand the G#dim is replacing a G7, which makes the first 3 bars a ii-V-I (if I'm correct that the first is Dm6).

Do I have the right chord names?
Is the D9 just a substitution for a Dm (ii)?
Is there another name for the G7/6?

Thanks for helping a non-guitarist!!

Comments

• djangologydjangology Portland, OregonModerator
    I understand the G#dim is replacing a G7
    the tritone of G7 is Db7 and the G#dim is a chord sub of that

the rest of what you describe here confuses me a bit...

normally in the key of C with something like rhythm changes I-vi-ii-V :

C - A7 - Dm7 - G7
    C - Am - D7 -G7

or chromatically,

Em7 - Eb7 - Dm7 - Db7 - G7
    or
    Em9 - EbM9 - Dm9 - Db7 - CM9

And so, in trying to figure out your chords you should come from that point of view prolly.
  • dulcimistdulcimist New
    I am most confused about the first set of four arpeggios. For simplicity, the chord spellings are:

B-D-F-A
    B-D-F-G#
    G-C-E-G
    F#-A-C-F#

You can see how the top notes form a line of descending half-steps. The third and fourth chords seem to clearly be C and D7, which then wants to resolve.