DjangoBooks.com

New style, new guitar but what..

PanosPanos PolandNew
Hello there,
i am new to GJ and to this forum also, so hello everybody!
i'd like some help for new gear that i want to buy from Michael..

I am quite used to electric guitar that i am playing for years blues with my favorite strat. As i got mature with guitar and music i only want to play GJ since the varieties it has just make me happy and its all i need :)

so my question is in a $1000 budget i am aiming to a Saga DG-340 Wrembel model, is it good choice? About playability mostly because i a m used to my superfast and easy strat. as far as i read here the guitar has quite good sound a bit mellow and wet that i think i dont mind much, since i like Stephane's sound.. Does it need a custom bridge from Josh and fret leveling as the other Gitanes? And also what kind of strings are better?10's or 11's?
I want to have my new guitar for many years as living here is expensive and such luxuries i can get every 10 years :?

sorry for many questions and words and for bad english :oops:
I hope for answer
Thanks in advance!
Panos

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    Hi Panos,

The DG-340 is the best guitar under $1000. The DG-330, Dg-320, and now the newer DG-300 are also just as good.

To play and sound their best, the Sagas all need a lot of setup work. We recommend a pro setup, custom bridge, and a fret level. Those mods will dramatically improve the sound and playability of the guitar. They tend to be pretty rough out of the box so this will help a lot.

Thanks!

-Michael
    Hey Michael, what is this "newer DG-300" you referenced in your previous post? Have they changed/upgraded the model?

Thanks for any info.
    Hey Michael, what is this "newer DG-300" you referenced in your previous post? Have they changed/upgraded the model?

Thanks for any info.