DjangoBooks.com

Sheetmusic for Clarinet

edited May 2008 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 193
Hee.

My getting into gypsy jazz guitar book by stephan wrembel arrived today :D and I started learning some rhythm and trying to learn a track. My mom plays clarinet for 5 years now and she wanted to play some django tunes :D also so I thought , hee maybey we can play together. But she only can read sheet music, so does anybody know where I can find Django sheet music for clarinet (douce ambiance, belleville etc..) , i searched everywhere but its almost impossible to find something for clarinet. :D

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    I think Django's stuff is mostly written in C. I've never seen anything transposed to horn keys.

'm
  • WowBobWowWowBobWow Another Time & SpaceNew
    I've had similar issues in playing with Bb instrumentalists. You simply need to create a lead sheet up a whole step from your original.

All you have to do is transpose every note up a whole step, meaning a C becomes D, C#/Db becomes D#/Eb, D is E, etc. If you know your keys, you are simply then just playing in a key up a whole step from your original key (for example, if you do Exactly like you in C, then you'd need to have a chart in D for the clarinet & you to make music)Aside from transposing every note in lead sheet up a whole step, these are some other options:

1) "Band in a Box" (computer software). If you have BIAB you can upload your desired django tune and simply select the transpose option to switch your key, then print out the head in the Bb key. For example, if you have "Exactly like you" in C, change the key to D, and presto, you've got your lead sheet for the clarinet (or any other Bb instrument).