DjangoBooks.com

What is the best Favino-style new guitar?

shegashega Colorado✭✭✭
Hello all,

I have been playing a Dupont for 11 years. It is wonderful. But for at least that long, I have wondered about Favino guitars, either originals or luthier instruments from other makers. Now I have decided to shop. But I live in Colorado and can't travel this year.

Other than the originals, what are the best Favino style guitars being produced?

or,

Who makes a Favino style as well as Maurice Dupont makes a Selmer style?

What would I expect to spend for a good instrument? Has anyone played the Asian made Favino styles? They seem to be around $1500 US.

Thanks, everyone!

Comments

• djangologydjangology Portland, OregonModerator
    very few of us could actaully answer that question. I have only played the Favino shaped Eimers, AJL, Shelley Park, and Dell Arte. Personally I would say the Dell Arte U.S. Hommage looks and feels like a actual Favino more than the others. also, the Shelley Park is interesting, slightly different feel, and I would say an "improved design".

I am really curious about the new Dell Arte (made in Asia) Hommage. I haven't played one but I want to try it. I am also curious about the DuPont favino shaped guitars.

I own a 2004 US Dell Arte Hommage.
  • MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    The Dell Arte Hommage is the best Favino copy ever made. It's really the only Favino copy that has the barky, nasal, upper midrangey tone that the old Jacques Favinos have. Other Favino copies have some of the same dimensions (bigger body, longer scale, etc), but not the sound.

On average, I've found the D hole Hommages are superior to the oval holes. Not always, but more often then not the D holes sound better and are louder. This one will blow your socks off!

• chappiechappie ✭✭✭✭
    http://rodrigoshopis.com/pictures/l1000449.html