DjangoBooks.com

left hand technique/getting started/direction?

chadechade New
edited January 2009 in Technique Posts: 4
I am a veteran guitarist (rock player) who is also classically trained. I (got thru) college just learning the basics and now i want to go full on into gypsy jazz. ive decided that its my direction now. i have some chops and lots of theory in my head from college. i want to learn the 2 finger left hand technique and my goal is to be able to solo (even if its slow, as long as it makes some sense) over one tune asap. i have a great ear, great rhythm, great sense of the style and feel. i just dont know what to do when i see chord changes. in the past ive tried to outline each chord as an arpeggio but i know that there is more to soloing than that! anyone out there have an idea as to what should be going thru my head when i see: a-6 d-6 E7 ... Im stuck! Also, pointers on using digits one and two on the left paw would be nice. I have the stephane wrembel book (mel bay) getting into gypsy jazz but it doesnt say anyhthing about fingering on the left hand. oh god someone please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :(

Comments

• BluesBop HarryBluesBop Harry Mexico city, MexicoVirtuoso
    If you're really serious about this, you need to learn "Gypsy picking" and how to play a good, steady pompe first.

For soloing I recommend Denis Chang's dvds "technique and improvisation" Volume 1 deals with the chord progression you mention. He'll show you typical licks in this style. All four volumes are great
    For making your own lines, learn all the arpeggios you can and try connecting them.
    "Gypsy fire" by Andreas Oberg is another must have book.
    Transcribe Django's solos.
    For the two finger approach transcribe his solo on "J'attendrai" and watch the video to get the fingerings right, that'll be a good start.

Hope this helps you.
  • andyjandyj Birmingham EnglandNew