DjangoBooks.com

My progress in the style - early developments

Gno WanGno Wan New
edited January 2009 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 5
My progress:

There doesn't seem to be a sepcific place to share your playing, so I figured this would be the closest given that I am a total newbie. I got Gypsy Picking for Christmas and am struggling to adapt to the new right hand style, and but dang it's hard, I really have a strong habit of using upstrokes on string changes.

Anyway, here's where I am at as a total beginner to the style:

I was a Ukulele player before I moved over to Gypsy Jazz guitar. You can see that I wasn't following Django's take on the song - I developed my own thing on the Ukulele before knowing the Django version, and just tried to Gypsy Jazzify it a bit. I was really tired, I recorded at 1 AM, and just posted the first take despite a string of obvious flubs, poor rhythm, problems with articulation, etc. The audio is the built in mike on the MacBook which isn't good, and the lighting made it look like I have a vein popping out of my head, but it is what it is. It's my first video, I had to make myself do it just to put myself out there since I have a bit of a phobia I need to overcome.

Thanks to Josh Gibson who sold me his Gitane DG-300, it's really a lovely instrument, and I am loving it, even if I often feel I am not worthy of it.

BTW, if there's a better place to put this, or if this kind of thing is just inappropriate for these forums, let me know.

[edit - repairing the typorama, every time I submit a new typo pops into view.]

Comments

I think you're off to a good start. The uke background is showing! And that's a good thing!! I've noticed that the uke community has a real fondness for chord-melody solos.
  • Gno WanGno Wan New
    I think you're off to a good start. The uke background is showing! And that's a good thing!! I've noticed that the uke community has a real fondness for chord-melody solos.