DjangoBooks.com

Poll: Build Your Own Selmer?

Craig BumgarnerCraig Bumgarner Drayden, MarylandVirtuoso Bumgarner S/N 001
As an amateur guitar builder (completed one Selmer style, working on #2), I'm curious how many forum readers are building Selmer style guitars, either as amateurs or professionals or have an interest in doing so.

Besides the poll, how about chiming in with a post. It would be interesting to know who is out there and what you are building. Wondering whether there is a critical mass of builders reading this forum to kick ideas around with here.

Craig

Comments

• Ken BloomKen Bloom Pilot Mountain, North CarolinaNew
    Hi Craig,

I built mine a couple of years ago. I wanted a seven string and was looking for a design that would suit my purposes. It has worked out very well. I've been playing this Selmac seven exclusively for a couple of years now and love it. I am getting ready to do number two to correct all the screw-ups I made on #1 and make some new ones instead. I am not strictly a Gypsyjazzer but have been playing swing for decades along a lot of other genres. I build instruments for aliving, just not guitars. This forum has been amazingly helpful to me in getting even close.

Ken Bloom
    Ken Bloom
  • crookedpinkycrookedpinky Glasgow✭✭✭✭ Alex Bishop D Hole, Altamira M & JWC D hole
    Hi Craig
    I started my first build last summer after a local builder visited our Hot Club in Glasgow, Scotland. This guys guitars are superb, back and sides built from plywood with a decent spruce top. They look a bit rough but they have a fanatastic sound, loud, cutting and just oozing that Selmer tone.

Anyway after his visit I thought if he can do it so can I. I had bought some cedar about a year previously and decided to use this for the top. There then followed a period of reading about guitar construction, collecting tools, glues etc. I converted my garden shed into a workshop and started work.