DjangoBooks.com

Advice on practice

edited April 2009 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 18
Hello. I have just bought the Gypsy Rhythm and Gypsy Picking books and I would appreciate some advice on how to incorporate the material of these books into my practice sessions. I am an intermediate-level guitarist, currently studying Vol. 3 of the Berklee series and, besides jazz, I also study genres such as bluegrass, western swing and Brazilian jazz. My questions are the following.

1. In Gypsy Picking, it is suggested that the student change his picking technique to the technique used by Gypsy jazz guitarists. I wouldn't like to abandon ordinary alternate picking - since it was most natural to me from the moment I picked up the guitar - but I would like to introduce rest-stroke sweeps into my playing as well as make all my downstrokes (at least up to moderate speeds) rest strokes. How should I practice the material in the book together with my alternate-picking studies in order not to drive my right hand crazy?
2. I am planning to study Gypsy jazz for about 2 hours every day for the following year. Could anybody suggest an appropriate practice regimen based on the GP and GR books?

Comments

• SalieriSalieri Europe, Romania✭✭✭
    I'll response to first question...I will give you an advice as beginner, I practice gypsy jazz for about 4-5 months, but i don't have problems with gypsy picking. So...my advice is to use this picking technique, not alternate and keep the good position, watch in Gypsy Picking book if you have...This technique gives you more powerfull attack and more good sound. When I was at in first month of gypsy jazz I had the same problem, but after about 1 month of practicing this technique is very easy !

One more thing: If you know Zakk Wylde, he use this technique and he plays rock !

Keep practicing,
    Stefan.
    140annl.png
    Visit my YouTube profile: http://www.youtube.com/user/Xiphosss
    Vive Django!