DjangoBooks.com

chord help please.

IWBIWB New
edited April 2009 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 13
Hey,

I am rather new to this style and the guitar.

My question is this: While playing a song, for example minor swing, where the progression is Am-Dm-E7 etc, can the chords be substituted throughout the song for chords like Am6, Dm7, Am7, or E (obivously not all of the options but you get the picture) without changing the key?

to put it more plainly: if i get bored of jamming away at the same three chords can i use sevenths and sixths or six-ninths etc without changing the key as long as i keep it an Am, or whatever, base?
Ian

Comments

• Matthias LenzMatthias Lenz Lucklum, GermanyNew
    you can use all the substitutions that you like and that sound good to you.
    Generally it´s Jazz music, so reharmonizing and improvising makes a good part of it for both soloing and accompanying. Coming up with new ideas keeps it fresh and entertaining.
    But when you play together with other people (especially in jams), it might be better to reduce yourself to more basic chords when backing another person playing lead. That makes sure the soloist is free and not restricted to certain alterations that you might throw in. That would of course be different when you have a steady partner to work and rehearse with.
  • IWBIWB New
    That helps alot, thank you.

does the same hold true for chord inversions? i mean, could i switch to a different inversion of a chord without messing with the soloist or would that cause them the same restrictions?

forgive me if that is a daft question, my musical experience is classical violin so chords are new to me and are definately very very confusing.
    Ian
  • AdelaarvarenAdelaarvaren Ballard, WA, USANew