DjangoBooks.com

Improvisation

KBKB Toronto, CanadaNew
edited May 2009 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 26
Hi guys...just wondering how most of you approach improvisation on the guitar. I've been playing for about 6 years now and my improv is based usually what i hear in my head. The problem i don't have perfect pitch and sometimes i hit some bum notes while improvising.

I know a lot of the GJ players can't read music or even chord charts so i'm guessing they don't really think of chord-scale relationships (altered scale over dom7th etc etc). I've read that they learn the different shapes for each chord on the fretboard and then make it a visual aspect - is this true?

I'm hoping someone can shed some light on their intial approaches towards improvisation on the guitar in the GJ style. Just wondering if there's an approach that is not too technical...my head hurts when i read about tritone subs, advance reharm i just want to leave that for when i play the piano. I know some of the members here already studied jazz and knew the fretboard well but for someone who didn't have theoretical background and just started their journey, how did they get the ball rolling???

My ultimate goal is to be able to improv to Giant Steps on the guitar GJ style!

Any advice/insight is greatly appreciated!

thanks,

KB

Comments

• KoratKorat NetherlandsNew
    I break down the chords in separate tones to start with an work from there
    If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you.
  • BluesBop HarryBluesBop Harry Mexico city, MexicoVirtuoso
    Short of going to a gypsy camp and studying with the masters your best bet are Denis Chang's DVDs, it's the closest thing to the gypsy method in 5 DVDs, plus some more modern tips and tricks that make you think Bireli, Wawau, Andreas, Adrien, Sebastien.
    No matter what your level is you'll be playing better in no time, the theory part is kept to a minimum so your head won't explode.