DjangoBooks.com

Chang, Nolan, Homespun, Michael, or what?

GregLewisGregLewis Chicago, IL (Oak Park)New
edited July 2009 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 68
I'm new to the gypsy guitar, and have found that there are many different learning packages. My gut (size largish) tells me to pick one and stick with it. But which? :roll:

I'd appreciate any suggestions, advice, etc.

Thanks!

Greg

Comments

• emicademicad Rome - ItalyModerator
    Let's start with Gypsy Picking, then Gypsy Rhythm.
  • pinkgarypinkgary ✭✭✭
    They all have their merits & their drawbacks, which differ from person to person. It all depends on how you like to learn & what guitar-based background you have. IMHO
  • CalebFSUCalebFSU Tallahassee, FLModerator Made in USA Dell Arte Hommage
    Greg- I am not sure where you live, but if you live in a place where you can't get lessons from someone, I would recomend using Michaels books and Dennis' DVDs together. In my oppinion those are the most solid ways to get going.
    Hard work beats talent, when talent doesn't work hard.
  • GregLewisGregLewis Chicago, IL (Oak Park)New
    Thanks!

Emicad - why the Picking book rather than the Rhythm?

Gregt
  • KBKB Toronto, CanadaNew
    IMHO...ur best bet is to get the gypsy rhythm book, picking book and stephane wrembel's intro gypsy jazz. learn the common chord shapes so that you can atleast start jamming at sessions and work on your rhythm playing.

Gypsy picking and Stephane's book will give you an idea of how to pick properly and a no-nonsense idea of how to approach improv (visual and aural aspect - shapes on fretboard).