DjangoBooks.com

New to the Gypsy world!!

Hey everybody! I'm new to the forum and to gypsy jazz. I saw John Jorgensen play this summer at a Tommy Emmanuel concert and was deeply fascinated by the style. I have been playing guitar for the last 10 years ( I'm 21), and i have been playing finger style for the last few on acoustic. I have also studied lap steel, a little jazz electric ( i use a tele), classical, and ukulele. I am trying to become a more versatile musician ( i sing too), so i want to study gypsy jazz. I have been looking at different guitars online, and while i am very familiar with regular acoustics ( i know all about woods and construction), i am not sure about the gypsy jazz guitars. I like the idea of a D hole because if my understanding is correct they have a deeper sound (which i love). My price range is preferably around $300 USD. On ebay I found a D hole with solid cedar top laminated rosewood back and sides by a brand called Enorez. I dont know much about the brand except that it is made in china. Normally I would be very skeptical, but I actually got a lap steel guitar (all solid mahogany) by the Enorez brand, and the construction and sound is amazing and very professional. However I will not assume anything. I know that Cigano has some for 400 (solid top) as well as Cordoba Gitano for 400 as well. I just wanted to know what you guys think. I am very tempted to trust the Enorez considering my previous purchase and save 100 dollars. Also I hear that for this style it is good to use a heavier pick. How thick and what brand? and finally strings I found that ddadario has some. Any recommendations on brand or guage? Please if anyone has any advice I would appreciate it. Thank you!

Here is a link to the Enorez
http://cgi.ebay.com/Enorez-MFG-D-Gypsy-Django-Jazz-Acoustic-Guitar-w-Case_W0QQitemZ170356017289QQcmdZViewItemQQptZGuitar?hash=item27aa028889&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14#ht_12655wt_869

Comments

• WColsherWColsher PhiladelphiaNew