DjangoBooks.com

1941 Epiphone Emperor

Ken BloomKen Bloom Pilot Mountain, North CarolinaNew
edited April 2010 in Classifieds Posts: 164
I am selling my 1941 Epiphone Emperor. I just don't use it. It is all original and in excellent playing condition. There is some deterioration of the binding on the back The rest is in excellent shape and it plays very well. The sound is loud and has the depth you would expect from a guitar that is 18 1/2" across the lower bout. It comes with a new case and a custom made case cover. I can send photos to those interested. $4500.00. You don't see these offered very often. I just don't play it very much and I would like to see it go to someone who would really use it. You can PM me if you like or e-mail me directly at <!-- e --><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><!-- e -->.

Ken Bloom
Ken Bloom

Comments

• keary18keary18 Jackson, MS✭✭✭✭
    Ken - did you ever live in or near NYC and teach there in the 1980's? I studied once with a teacher at the Guitar Study Center - owned by Eddie Simon - brother to Paul, and his name was Ken Bloom...

good luck selling the Epiphone, those are great guitars...
    David
  • klaatuklaatu Nova ScotiaProdigy Rodrigo Shopis D'Artagnan, 1950s Jacques Castelluccia
    Wow, wish I could afford that, but all my money is tied up in gypsy guitars. I've got a 1946 Epi Triumph that is a perfect big band rhythm machine. Bet the Emperor is awesome.

It's too bad that Gibson kept the name after they bought the company and used it for their second line of guitars, which are now made in Asia. Worse yet, they recycled some of the old model names, like Emperor and Broadway. Most people have no idea that Epiphone was once Gibson's biggest rival. Those old Epiphones are fantastic guitars, every bit as good, if not better than, the Gibsons that command such high prices because of the name.

Freddie Green played an Emperor during one part of his career: