DjangoBooks.com

mic to record vocals

edited January 2011 in Recording Posts: 72
I have no knowledge of microphones. Could you recommend a good mic under 200 bucks (more if necessary). I really appreciate any suggestions.

My future brother in law gifted me his old mic pre-amp with a usb adapter and I downloaded Audacity. All I need now is a good mic to record vocals into the mix.

Comments

• BluesBop HarryBluesBop Harry Mexico city, MexicoVirtuoso
    under $100 a Shure SM58 is the standard for vocals and a 57 for instruments. Not state-of-the-art but pretty good, I own a pair and they are very reliable.
    ...and for $200 you can have one of each
  • Tele295Tele295 San Buenaventura (Latcho Drom), CA✭✭✭ Gitane DG300, D500
    Can't go wrong with a 58
    Jill Martini Soiree - Gypsy Swing & Cocktail Jazz
    http://www.jillmartinisoiree.com
  • jscook777jscook777 ✭✭✭✭
    Steam-powered,

The SM58 is definitely the most commonly used vocal mic for live performance. It is very durable and doesn't change drastically in tone if you sing very close to the microphone element or a little off of its axis. There is also a natural boost in the upper midrange which adds a little cutting power when used on voices. Coincidentally, this boost is the only significant difference between the SM57(marketed as an instrument mic) and SM58(marketed as a vocal mic). Also the SM58 has a tight pickup pattern (cardiod) with good rejection points right where floor monitors are usually positioned, this is very useful in decreasing feedback in live performance.