DjangoBooks.com

question on picks

judsonjudson New
edited March 2012 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 25
I've been reading several topics here on Gyps picks and Django's pick. I find my favorites are fat stubby, little thick, dunlop purple teardrop picks that are worn down by a lot of playing. I've heard a lot of old timers say that turtle shell or bull horn picks were better. Does anyone have an opinion on this? I see that Django Books is now selling bull horn picks that look very similar to the plastic ones I use - are they better?

Comments

• fusejazfusejaz Redmond, WANew
    I am pretty new to this style and have tried and regularly use a 3mm Dunlop Big Stubby and 2mm Dunlop Gator Grip.
    They both seem to suit me well and I like them better than the Fender Heavy I am used to using for rock and blues. But somehow sound and power-wise I find the picks I am fashioning out of large horn buttons purchased at a Jo-Ann Fabric store for about $2 each to be the biggest sound. I don't know what type of horn they are. They are shaped like a fish and have a "scale pattern" and even an inlaid white eye. I have had good success with one that is about 4-5mm thick. It took considerable effort to get it working well and I had to saw off the cute tail :) but after finally getting a smooth sanded finish on it I have almost no pick noise when playing single note lines..which I prefer. It is strikingly a fine and different sound and tone compared to the other "synthetic" picks I am using. I am in the process of trying to make another one right now out of a different button and it looks promising as well. So if you don't want to spend big bucks for boutique picks this may get you close..altho I have not tried a Wegen etc.. so it may not even be close to that sound... but for me it is a very good sound.
    See what I am up to at: http://myjazzjourney.tumblr.com/
  • judsonjudson New