DjangoBooks.com

I need a great soloing workout plan

anthon_74anthon_74 Marin county, CA✭✭✭✭ Alta Mira M 01
edited June 2012 in Licks and Patterns Posts: 561
Hey All,

So let me explain - I have been playing the guitar for 24 years, but mostly rock and Roll (no Jazz OR Gypsy Jazz), and I've only begun playing Django Jazz for about 6 years. The first 5.5 years of playing Gypsy Jazz, I mainly focused on rhythm, so I've really only been trying my hand at lead for about 7 months now.

NOW, I have a system of playing every major scale mode up and down the neck which I'm very happy with, and to memorize it, I spent many hours playing the 7 scale shapes starting in the key of C, then moving to G, then to D and so on down the circle of 5ths. This led me to being able to play in the major scale all over the fret board no matter what key I was in and almost never get lost.

THIS also seems nearly useless in Gypsy Jazz.

SO ---- What I'm looking for is the equivalent for learning the arpeggios and "note maps" most commonly used in the Django style. A system of sorts that I can play in different keys, with the end result being greater ease and understanding of the fretboard from a gypsy Jazz POV.

(FYI right now my biggest difficulty is following chord changes) .

Is there a book ? (right now I have Stephen wrembels book and Gypsy Fire) I'm having trouble incorporating the licks and patterns into my soloing though....

Thanks for any advice you may have !!

Cheers
Anthony

Comments

• asd123321asd123321 ✭✭✭✭
    What about playing the entire tune simply by playing arpeggios in different positions until you know them. Is the problem you can't do it or haven't worked on it?
  • anthon_74anthon_74 Marin county, CA✭✭✭✭ Alta Mira M 01