DjangoBooks.com

What are the best Django solos to transcribe?

vincevince Davis & San Francisco, CANew
edited January 2012 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 133
Hi All,

Transcribing takes a great deal of time and effort to do, so it seems a beginner should choose a piece by Django that gives them a wealth of ideas, phrases, and is not too difficult. I wanted to start some discussion on this — what are some of the best works to begin transcribing? Do you actually write the piece out in tab, memorize everything, or just learn certain phrases?
I don't know whether I'll ever be an excellent player if I keep practicing, but I'm absolutely sure I won't be if I stop.

Comments

• Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    Vince, you don't say exactly what kind of beginner you are... I normally assume that most people who stumble on this site at least know the basic guitar chords, etc... so they are beginners in GJ, but not absolute beginners on the guitar itself?

So assuming that's an accurate description of you (?) I'd personally advise you not to bother too much with Django solos until you've at least mastered most of the RH technique taught in Michael Horowitz's "Gypsy Picking", or some similar manual... though I do think Michael's is the best.

When you can do most of the stuff in Michael's book (it took me a few months of practice) then you're ready to start challenging yourself with Django solos.

Yes, you can transcribe them yourself, but if you are new to this I'd recommend you purchase some of these inexpensive transcriptions at djangosolos.com

http://www.djangosolos.com/GuitarTranscriptions.php

I've tried of few of them and found them to be pretty accurate: LH fingering seems to be a kind of individual thing with guitarists; what works well for one may not for another... but pay close attention to the RH patterns, because they will help you a lot in playing this style authentically.