DjangoBooks.com

What do you wish you knew when you first started?

2»

Comments

• ScoredogScoredog Santa Barbara, Ca✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2018 Posts: 872
    I wish I knew it was going to be this difficult to get good at I would have stayed in my lane as a funkster groove jazz player. I could hear most of the harmonies when I started so i thought it would be easy to pick this up but there is a lot more to it than just hearing it.

That said i'm a lot better guitarist thanks to gypsy Jazz then I ever thought I'd be.
    humphrymusic
  • BonesBones Moderator
    Yeah the slow practice thing.

how to play better rhythm.

The importance of the 'short rest stroke'
  • MatteoMatteo Sweden✭✭✭✭ JWC Modele Jazz, Lottonen "Selmer-Maccaferri"
    Non, je ne regrette rien. Things are like they are. I still have a lot to learn, and that's not a bad thing - having something stimulating to do in your spare time. The small discoveries you do that keep you going ... I love this music. On the other hand, there was this woman ... Guess I've made a few wrong choices in my life. But that would probably not have worked out in the long run either. Nothing I could do about it now. No point in having regrets. ;)
    Buco
  • Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    I've been thinking about this one for a few days, great topic!

For me---

- backing tracks are wonderful, yes! OTOH, it's more challenging but really good for me to practise with just a metronome.

- Inquiring minds want to know--- why can't I tap my $&@#% foot when I play?

Paul Cezanne: "I could paint for a thousand years without stopping and I would still feel as though I knew nothing."

Edgar Degas: "Only when he no longer knows what he is doing does the painter do good things.... To draw, you must close your eyes and sing."

Georges Braque: "In art there is only one thing that counts: the bit that can’t be explained."