DjangoBooks.com

building a Selmer style guitar

mareskermaresker New
edited November 2012 in Welcome Posts: 3
I have built several archtops that are great guitars but want to try my hand at a Selmer style. I bought Michael Collins book. I'm trying to figure out if I want to do ply the wood as indicated in the book or use solid wood. In your estimation what are the advantages. It seems like there are lots of great guitars out there that are made with solid wood. Do you think it's essential for the Gypsy sound to use veneer?

Comments

• noodlenotnoodlenot ✭✭✭
    i don´t know, but i´ll use solid wood (maybe EIRW, maybe satinwood) for my 1st build. doing the ply is a bit of a pain for me, as i only use hide glue (not because i think it´s "the best" but because it´s what i know best, and cherish the reversibility of the joins it produces) and water based glues tend to ripple/curl (i don´t know the exact term in english) and cup the thin veneers. epoxies (or PU) i have no experience with, but don´t wish to try (to messy for me - i already mess up enough on my own :)).

i´m shure many guys will speak for the laminate backs (and sides) as the ultimate kick for the gypsy fix - and it must have an influence on the "color" of the sound - but i like to think that most of the sound comes from the top - so proper study of the density, stiffness (deflection) and (accordingly) thickness of the of the top plates of good selmer guitars would be my first bet (sorry if this is already obvious for you, i´m more thinking out loud here). the stiff ladder bracing of the back should also help mitigate its influence on the output (at least in the lower range of the spectrum and the coupling with the top and air modes). i sure would like to hear Mr. Holo or Mr. Bumgarner take on this. or anybody else´s for that matter.

good luck with the build!
  • ShawnShawn Boise, Idaho✭✭✭✭