DjangoBooks.com

Soft Picking Style?

GorquinGorquin New
edited September 2013 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 4
Hello Newbie here.

First off I don't want to offend anyone and I firmly believe in the phrase "to each his/her own" so here's my question.

Does anyone know of any posted videos of someone playing a Gypsy Jazz guitar more like a Std Jazz guitar with a soft touch I rather like the rhythms and lead work of the Gypsy Jazz style but I don't care for the aggressive heavy picking sound. I'd prefer a more contemporary sound plugged into an amp and/or PA. Maybe Jim Hall or Pat Methany meets Django.

Anyone?

Comments

• wimwim ChicagoModerator Barault #503 replica
    howard alden has a softer hitter, and he has great ideas and improvisation, but the picking style can sound sloppy to me sometimes. you can see a jazz guitarist frank vignola who plays a lot of gypsy jazz guitar in a style as if it was an electric guitar. in my opinion it sounds totally naff and doesn't suit the style, he's got a rubbish sound and a lot of tasteless licks.. but if you don't like the aggressive picking sound maybe it will be more your thing?

andreas oberg plays with a flatter wrist / alternate picking style a lot, and very well, whilst he's also capable of playing the broken wrist style with aggressive gypsy picking. his playing is more musical, although he still plays a lot of canned ideas. i am quite impressed with his ability to switch back and forth between a modern electric guitar style, and a more "tchavolo" style, with apparent fluency and ease in both. most guys end up heading one way or the other way.