DjangoBooks.com

Gypsy/Jazz scene in Melbourne, Australia?

Captain SwingCaptain Swing U.K.New
edited November 2013 in International Posts: 47
Just looking for any info on the gypsy/jazz scene in Melbourne, as I'm likely to be emigrating in the next 12 months or so, and will be looking for musicians to play with/form a band.
I've been playing this style on guitar for 22 years, and I'm considered to be a particularly good rhythm player.
Just fishing at the moment to see what's out there in Melbourne.
Anyone interested, check out my current band, based in Nottingham, UK. (I'm on rhythm guitar)

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Swingolo ... 8204989441

Btw, I'm in Melbourne at the moment, and will be here for another 6 weeks.

Comments

• wimwim ChicagoModerator Barault #503 replica
    There is a big scene! You'll want to get on the aus facebook group
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/ozmanouche/

If you're going to be still around in the end of November then check out our festival Ozmanouche, Lollo is headlining this year (touch spruce).
    http://www.ozmanouche.com

So you're there in melb already? Search for gigs from The Furbelows, Ultrafox, La Mauvaise Reputation, Duck Musique ... all good bands in the style. There are heaps of players but the most active guys I can think of to meet are Jon Delaney (who will probably reply here too), Sam O'Halloran, Caley Groves, Peter Baylor, Jules Brunton ..

There's pretty regularly jazz manouche gigs at Paris Cat jazz club in the city, and lots of other nice music there too. More gigs are in bars and cafes though.. some places to check out, Grumpy's green in Fitzroy, Tre Espresso in Brunswick, Some Velvet Morning in Clifton Hill, the Lomond in Brunswick(?), Lentil as Anything in Abbotsford, Open Studio in Northcote. There's also a regular Sunday afternoon djam at CERES in Brunswick, but the level there can be kinda amateurish sometimes.

And most importantly, in melbourne it's a Bb in swing 39 not a G- :wink: