DjangoBooks.com

Another new guy looking for help and advice.

ChiefbigeasyChiefbigeasy New Orleans, LA✭✭✭ Dupont MDC 50; The Loar LH6, AJL Silent Guitar
in Welcome Posts: 335
I am new to gypsy jazz, but have been playing guitar for over 50 years. I have played everything from folk tunes in the 70's to New Orleans r&b, Chicago and Texas blues, and flamenco, sometimes semi-pro, but always with a day job. The one thing that has always been the brick wall for me has been jazz on guitar. I tried it in my youth, during the heady days of jazz fusion music, but I didn't have the discipline at the time. What I can say, though, is like most guitar players, I have a good ear. I can hear and understand the most complex improvisational music.

I've been interested in Gypsy Jazz for as long as I've heard it. I am lucky enough to say that I've seen Stephan Grappelli in person (yeah, I'm almost 60). I finally picked up the guitar again after a hiatus, inspired by local GJ player Tony Green. Unfortunately, I did not find Michael’s site until after I bought a Taylor 310ce, the closest thing I could find to a GJ guitar around here. Now, I've got an Altamira with my name on it heading my way later this month and may sell the Taylor (maybe not, though; can’t have too many guitars).