DjangoBooks.com

New Here and New to Gypsy Jazz

Ryan RheaRyan Rhea Memphis, TN✭✭ '02 Lehmann Eclipse
in Welcome Posts: 27
Hello all!

I'm new to this forum (as a member, anyway) and very new to Gypsy Jazz. I just got my first GJ guitar, a 2002 Lehmann Eclipse, a week ago today. I promised myself that I would get a Dupont when the time came, but I happened to be in Nashville last week and popped into Gruhn's, picked up the Lehmann (it was on consignment) and I couldn't stop playing it. :) I had no intentions of spending that kind of money on that trip, but this guitar just grabbed me. I've been playing guitar (and collecting them) for 25 years and it's fairly rare for me to get that excited about a guitar right off the bat. Anyway, not sure if I made the best decision in terms of "traditional" tone and esthetics, but since I plan to keep playing other styles of music in addition to GJ, I think having a slightly more tonally versatile GJ box suits me better (if that is even true... I'm sure a Dupont could cover most things, as well). I will have a D hole Dupont one of these days, though... and soon! :)

Here is my my Lehmann. It needs some work done on the neck. I think it has a slight twist, but it's nothing that Joe Glaser and team can't fix for me. It plays incredibly well and sounds (to my inexperienced-in-GJ ear) very rich, warm and LOUD. Heysoos is this thing loud! :) This particular guitar used to belong to guitar virtuoso, Rolly Brown. In fact, Bernie Lehmann made it specifically for him. I'm proud to have it. Maybe some day I'll be a fraction as good as that guy. :)

lehamnn_01.jpg

lehamnn_02.jpg

lehamnn_03.jpg

lehamnn_04.jpg