DjangoBooks.com

Another Newcomer to the Jazz Manouche world...

13»

Comments

• AndrewUlleAndrewUlle Cleveland, OH✭✭✭ Cigano GJ-15
    @Barkonator - is this your guitar? That's a beauty!

http://tinyurl.com/meo5oyc
  • BarkonatorBarkonator Medina, OH✭✭ Mazaud - Vieux Paris
  • Kevin FurnissKevin Furniss France✭✭ AJL 503 XO
    Well done for posting your vid Andrew! You may have given me the courage to put a vid up for critique !
    I have been playing for around 2 years and keep saying that in a another couple or so I might look for someone to play with, I look forward to playing with a good player and I imagine it would bring you on, but I think I would benefit most from it if I can reach a decent level on my own,so its back to it for a while yet ! It's a lot of work this GJ !
    ........Oh and the household think the new Patenotte is a bit blummin loud......so looks like I may end up in the office.
  • edited January 2015 Posts: 3,707
    something to keep in the back of your mind when learning this. The temptation to go up to speed is strong but in the end it's way faster to play really slowly and get the sound and coordination really clean before trying to speed up.

I will use Honeysuckle Rose for an example in C

Practice really slowly on first change (eg D-7 G7 ) get it really clean for 2-3 minutes then play it full speed, see what works and what doesn't then if it still isn't quite right relax on something like a basic picking of the head for a few or free noodling

THEN Go back and repeat the slow chord change for another 2-3 minutes and then try again at speed. When the first change is clean go on the the next change (G7-C69) and repeat

Work you way through one song this way. If there is a section that has some unfamiliar voicings start at the end and work back to the known. Slowly enough that your fingers have plenty of time to move to the new locations without stress.