DjangoBooks.com

Playing other types of guitars after 'Selmers'

Comments

• scotscot Virtuoso
    I think that for most people, this is a normal but temporary condition, especially if you already played other types of music. When you start into GJ you almost by necessity have to abandon all other kinds of music for the obvious reasons. Most of us will continue with or eventually return to (to some degree anyway) the other styles we originally played. I barely picked up my other guitars for several years at the beginning but after 23 years of GJ, I am happy that I kept that Martin M38 because I play it all the time.

My 1984 Favino (not exactly a GJ guitar) is good for many styles of music, but it is not a fingerstyle guitar at all and I never use it for that. Now the old Martin, that's a perfect fingerstyle guitar. I'm a mechanic by trade and I am all about the right too for the job.
    StringswingerBuco
  • @alton I had a '63 Tenneesean for many years and still have a '65 Double Anniversary. Love the feel and sound!
    @scot wish you could make it down to catch a gig! Jerry Sims is playing with us now. We will be doing a weekly Friday or Saturday night gig here starting soon. Holler at me.
  • Jeff MooreJeff Moore Minneapolis✭✭✭✭ Lebreton 2
    edited October 2015 Posts: 476
    After playing cheap stuff (which I bonded with anyway) for 35 years, I scraped and bought a custom X brace flatop. It only sat there for the next 15 years, while I did Django. It has recently and suddenly become real important to me.
    "We need a radical redistribution of wealth and power" MLK
  • Frank WekenmannFrank Wekenmann Germany✭✭✭✭