DjangoBooks.com

That gypsy sound

GiveMeYourGuitarGiveMeYourGuitar New Altimera M01D-A
Sorry if this has been asked a thousand times, I read the article that Micheal did for premier guitar and that was helpful but I was hoping someone could give me a more in depth explanation. I understand the basics, emphasizing 6 and 9, harmonic minor works well over dominant chords, diminished licks, chromatic enclosures, ect. Are there some things that a lot of modern gypsy players have in common that give that signature sound? I've only been playing this style for a few months. I'm a music student, so no need to dumb down the theory.

Comments

• PapsPierPapsPier ✭✭
    I am not sure what gypsy sound you are trying to "reproduce": there are so many different sounds. Giving us a name or several names of players you like would help.
    The gypsy sound is more about the right and left hand technique rather than about what notes you play.
    Of course what distinguishes the modern players and the old school players is also the notes they play. But the way they play is really really different.
  • PetrovPetrov ✭✭
    as @PapsPier says, learn the technique. That is half the battle (or more!)

Whoever is your favourite artist in this genre, listen to them and learn the phrasing of these players. The more you listen to this music, the more you will internalise that "sound".

There are plenty of online courses at reasonable prices as well. Take your pick.

If you like that 30s sound, I've picked up this and love it https://www.soundslice.com/store/1930s-django-sound/

If you like the modern players, check out
    https://www.dc-musicschool.com/store/
  • PetrovPetrov ✭✭
    edited August 2017 Posts: 125
    I wanted to add. You seem to understand the basic theory behind what makes that "sound"

Your question to what these players have in common....Lots of practice and time invested!