DjangoBooks.com

Pain due to inadequate guitar or wrong technique?

in Technique Posts: 18
Well, I've been playing for (more or less) 4 months already, I come from a Classical/BossaNova Background, therefore I had never used a pick before getting into this style, so I'm getting used to a whole new way of playing, I went through "Gypsy picking" by Michael Horowitz to improve my technique.

But lately, after I finish playing any piece, my right wrist hurts when move my hand out of the "Bent wrist" position used to play this style, and I wanted to address this issue before it gets into a bigger problem.

Is it normal? I mean, in classical guitar I was taught that if it hurts, then something is wrong, I assume this applies to every technique, so I guess I'm doing something wrong.

I was told by the only guy I know who plays gypsy jazz in the city I live that once I get one of those guitars I'll notice the relation between the gypsy picking technique and the bridge position with the strings.

But I don't own a gypsy jazz guitar yet, and they are not sold in my country, I asked a local Luthier to make one for me, so by now I'm playing with a Classical Nylon stringed guitar, really low action, so I'm deducting that I'm having to bend further my wrist unconsciously in order to reach the strings, and that causes unnecessary tension.

So would it be the guitar or is it technique? What can I do? Has someone experienced this? What should I focus on?

Comments

• dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    Really can't give any advice without seeing you play! As far as the bent wrist is concerned, it doesn't necessarily have to be really bent. If you extend your arm straight forward, and let your wrist completely relax and fall, that should be a good starting point for wrist angle.

Like I said, without seeing what you are actually doing, it's extremely difficult to give any kind of adequate advice
    Papablo_CP
    dennis wrote: »